DAF respects your privacy. We use cookies for a variety of purposes, such as website functionality, improving your experience of our website, building integration with social media and helping target marketing activities within and beyond our website. By continuing your visit on our website, you are consenting to our use of cookies. However, if you want to customize your cookie preferences, click on 'Change settings' below. You can withdraw your consent at any time. For more information, please visit our Cookie Notice.
  • 22 February 2018

Adam Baker named 2018 DAF Trucks’ UK Technician of the Year

DAF UK Technician of the Year 2018 - Winner Announced

On 12th February 2018, DAF Trucks Ltd welcomed the 8 finalists of this year’s DAF UK Technician of the Year to Thame to participate in this prestigious event.  The process for this year’s competition started in December 2017, whereby Service Managers were invited to nominate their Master Technicians to complete in this year’s competition and for the opportunity to progress to 2018’s European Technician of the Year in Eindhoven during April. 


The nominations reasons were wide ranging and demonstrated the excellence present in our Technicians and across the DAF Dealer Network, it was challenging selecting the final 8 based on the excellent nominations received.

Finalists took part in a series of assessments throughout the day on Monday 12th February and this was followed by a celebration event at the Oxfordshire Golf and Country Club where the results were announced.

Congratulations to all those nominated and in particular our finalists for 2018, you are all an integral part of the DAF Dealer Network.

he results for the DAF UK Technician of the Year 2018 are as follows:

Adam Baker

Chassis Cab - BSE


Matthew Burton

Ford and Slater - Spalding

2nd Place

Lee Walton

Ford and Slater - Wisbech

3rd Place

Simon Holgate

Adams Morey - Southampton

Runner up

Tony Smith

Ford & Slater - Newark

Runner up

Gareth Carruthers

TBF Thompson - Garvagh

Runner up

David Ross

Imperial - Bellshill

Runner up

Lee Mansell

Wessex - Newton Abbot

Runner up